overground scene


deep down we’re sorry … but we can’t wait!
April 5, 2009, 9:17 pm
Filed under: Greece, people | Tags: , , , , ,

A short trip to greece is all it takes to convince me to try even harder to make it here (not greece). At the same time, it reminds me of the few but serious reasons why I will always miss it. These reasons don’t  have to do with the place itself actually. For one thing, is the family. Secondly, it’s the friends. It is true that making friends after a certain age is difficult, if not impossible. The thing with old friends is that most rituals and norms have been developed in parallel, over the course of many years. When you loose your friends, it is very unlikely that you’ll find someone new to do the same rituals. But humans are all about adaptation right? But still, even if you develop new rituals, you still get the feeling of melancholy (at best).

The first thing I yearned when in greece was to go to Athens for records with my friends. I got a re-issue of the Impetigo album ‘Horror of the zombies” which is excellent! I also got the second Agent Orange album (This is the voice) which kicks ass! I saw, after more than a year, all the slimy record store owners at Monastiraki with their over-inflated prices and laughed and I saw a town packed with cops.

Most importantly, I spent each single night listening to music and consuming junk food with my friends. That is the single thing I miss most about greece. Hanging out and listening to music. Things that take me back to high school when music was everything that mattered. Though I don’t thing it ever stopped being for me. For these reunions, some records are “a must”. Wolverine Blues or Clandestine or anything swedish for that matter. Most of the time we don’t talk. We communicate with the eyes. We let the music do the talking. The music will say how much we have missed each other, how some things in life will survive despite the distance and manage to bloom inside the filth of the city.

Στην πίστα του αεροδρομίου έχει νυχτώσει

ένα εκατομμύριο αστέρια φωτίζουν οτι μ’ έχει πληγώσει

ένας φίλος μου απόψε εγκαταλείπει αυτή τη χώρα

κατα βάθος λυπάται μα δε βλέπει και την ώρα

που η ζωή του θα αλλάξει

όταν τ’  αεροπλάνα πετάνε, η γη απλώνεται και οι άνθρωποι ξεχνάνε …

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

